Shield: From the Provincial Seal of Batangas where the town is located.

Garlic (Bawang): From where the name "Bauan" is derived from.

Four Components: Four (4) municipalities carved out from the municipality of Bauan, namely: (1) Municipality of Tingloy with its famous Isla de Maricaban; (2) Municipality of Alitagtag with its abundant agricultural products; (3) Municipality of Mabini with its marine products and (4) Municipality of San Pascual with its industry.

Leaves: Forty (40) Barangays comprising the municipality.